Posted on Leave a comment

Book Review: Losing My Inhibitions – Finally free and ready to have fun

Plot:

A year after leaving her controlling ex, Roxy’s divorce is finally official. She’s got her confidence and career back on track and is ready to start enjoying some no-strings-attached fun.

But just when Roxy thinks she has her dating plan all mapped out, a hot younger single man unexpectedly appears. On paper, he sounds like exactly what Roxy’s been looking for, until she’s warned that he’s strictly off limits. Getting involved with him will put her career, home and everything she’s worked for in extreme jeopardy. There’s a million reasons why Roxy shouldn’t give into his charms. The trouble is, he’s just too tempting…

Will Roxy take a chance and risk it all to pursue a forbidden fling? And if she does, can she find a way to let him rock her world, without turning it upside down?

Losing My Inhibitions is a sexy, laugh-out-loud, romantic comedy with a modern twist, which is about self-love, new beginnings, forging your own path in life and being true to yourself. It can be read as a standalone novel or as a prequel to The Middle-Aged Virgin and Only When It’s Love. Ideal for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Lindsey Kelk. 

Review:

First of all, big thank you to Olivia for sending me this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Are you seeking a new, fresh voice of funny, romantic fiction? Here we go.

Losing My Inhibitions was a brilliant read and in some ways, it was spooky the comparisons between Roxy’s life and those in the past.

This book is very understanding as it is about having a new start – at any age.

Roxy is starting a fresh chapter in her life. At forty-one and newly divorced she is finding herself for the first time in years. She is very ready for love and eager to live life to the fullest. Then, life throws her a sexy curveball. However, with all ball sports, there is always the danger of getting hurt.

Colette (boss) has given Roxy her job and put her up whilst she is finding her feet again. Of course Roxy feels she owes her boss for all the help given. She is working flat out on the Northern Beauty Live! Exhibition and when Colette agrees to get her help she can’t believe her luck. But when her boss reveals this to be her son (the baby boy in all the photos on Colette’s desk) Roxy’s earlier happiness quickly dissolves.

Colette’s son, Finn, tries to ‘break into’ his mothers home and comes face to face with a semi-naked Roxy they both know working together is going to be different than expected. Finn is no longer a baby boy instead, he has turned into a ripped, gorgeous and charming man. He is the toy-boy she’s been looking for but the one she can’t have.

In order to keep her job and her friendship with the woman that saved her in a time of crisis Roxy knows she will have to keep focused but can she do that and more importantly does she want to? Is Finn the answer to the fun she needs?

A brilliant and saucy read with cringe-worthy moments captured perfectly and genius comedy that had me laughing out loud. You can really hear the personality coming out throughout the writing which is refreshing. You have been warned if you read this on the bus prepare for funny looks, I am serious.

I can’t wait to see what Olivia Spring creates next! I love that the characters in this novel is relate-able. I cannot wait to get my hands on Olivia’s other novels if they are as good as this one.

4/5 Stars

Advertisements
Posted on 1 Comment

Lucy in the Sky – Paige Toon Review

Settling down for a 24-hour flight to Australia, Lucy finds a text message on her phone from a woman claiming to have slept with her boyfriend, James, four times in the past month. Trapped above the Pacific, she questions everything about their relationship, but when she finally calls him, James reassures her that it was only his friend playing a joke. James is gorgeous and successful and Lucy adores him, yet at her best friend Molly’s wedding in Sydney, she finds herself having doubts and is keeping an eye on Molly’s brother-in-law Nathan. Nathan is a happy-go-lucky surfer boy with no prospects, no place to live, and an almost-girlfriend in tow. Suddenly, Lucy finds herself caught between two distant continents and two very different men.

Plot

Lucy In The Sky is Paige Toon’s debut novel. It’s the story of Lucy who goes back to her native Australia for her best friends’, Molly and Sam, wedding. Just before her flight takes off, she gets a text message from her boyfriend James and her whole world comes crashing down…

Lucy In The Sky is the second book I’ve read of hers and is a very impressive debut novel. The writing style is told in first-person so we hear all of Lucy’s thoughts about the text message, going back to Aussie and her dilemma between her boyfriends of four years, and Sam’s younger brother Nathan who she falls for whilst there.

Lucy is a brilliant character, sure she has flaws, and did string along both Nathan and James in a way but she did it for reason. I think the fact that James was such a good liar made it easy for Lucy to believe she did love both him and Nathan. You’re with her every step of the way from the flight to Aus where she receives the text to the holiday and back to London and you just want to keep reading and reading and see what exactly happens next.

Nathan was an equally good character and I loved how he was pretty much there during the whole novel whether it be telling stupid jokes to Lucy or it just being Lucy thinking of him.

I loved Molly and Sam and while they were in Aussie for half the novel to Lucy’s being in London they were also present and I like that they didn’t fade away at all after the wedding.

James irritated me through-out. which I’m sure is what he was meant to do! – and I kept hoping Lucy would just dump him! I have to say though, Paige wrote James well so it was easy to believe that Lucy would believe everything he was saying.

I enjoyed all of the minor characters, Lucy’s work colleagues, her old friends from Uni and her old friends from Australia. Paige introduced us to some brilliant characters who all clicked together.

I also enjoyed how the novel was set in both Australia and London and how both were described really really well. 5/5 for me -which is rare.

 

Review & Thoughts

Paige Toon is one of those authors for Chic Lit that I just find myself getting lost in her books and being taken to another world where I wish I was in – this is the effect of her writing skills.

Lucy in the Sky was adorable. Fluffy. Sad. Funny. Inspiring and so many other emotions. You can’t not enjoy this type of book. It’s a guilty pleasure that you’ll binge-read and finish as soon as possible. I’m a slow reader, yet somehow finished this within 12 hours!

Overall, it was indeed an impressive debut. Paige has such an easy-to-read writing style that sucks you in and helps you engage in her character so well, you don’t want to leave them just yet. You want to know what happens, even if it’s only something minor happening. All the characters were relatable in someway, and I really enjoyed reading about them and felt quite connected them all. An absolutely brilliant novel and one I highly recommend. It looks like Lucy in the Sky gets her Diamond. – Beatles reference anyone?

Have you read anything by Paige Toon? Let me know what you think of Chic Lit, I’d love to hear from you!