Book Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Plot: Smart, warm, uplifting, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine is the story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey. No one’s ever told Eleanor that life should be better than fine.  Meet Eleanor Oliphant: She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she’s […]

Advertisements

TBR for April

This month I am aiming to read those as you can see above in my little pyramid! I’ve heard great things about these writers so I am hoping I will not be disappointed this month! I have been dying to read Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as I have only heard great things about this […]

Book Review: Eleanor & Park By Rainbow Rowell

Plot:  Two misfits. One extraordinary love. Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor. Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes […]

Book Review: The Rome Affair

Plot: The glamorous capital city of Italy is brought to startling life in The Rome Affair, a compelling summer novel by Karen Swan. 1974 and Elena Damiani lives a gilded life. Born to wealth and a noted beauty, no door is closed to her, no man can resist her. At twenty-six, she is already onto […]

Book Review: The Elegance of the Hedgehog

Plot: We are in the center of Paris, in an elegant apartment building inhabited by bourgeois families. Renée, the concierge, is witness to the lavish but vacuous lives of her numerous employers. Outwardly she conforms to every stereotype of the concierge: fat, cantankerous, addicted to television. Yet, unbeknownst to her employers, Renée is a cultured […]

BookClub Reads: Every Time I Find the Meaning of Life, They Change It

Plot: Daniel Klein’s fans have fallen in love with the warm, humorous, and thoughtful way he shows how philosophy resonates in everyday life. Readers of his popular books Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar . . . and Travels with Epicurus come for enlightenment and stay for the entertainment. As a young college […]

Paris & Reading

Paris is made for readers. With secret courtyards , gardens, and cafes on every corner, the city offers so many spots for a book lover to curl up with a great read.  From my research there are 756 bookstores to explore to find your next pick, mainly based in the 5th and 6th arrondissements on […]

Book Review: A Simple Favor

Plot: She’s your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That’s why she’s so dangerous. A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.  It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do […]

Book Review: Glitz

Plot:  All’s fair in love and war – especially when there’s a trust fund at stake. The four beautiful Chambers girls are rolling in money, thanks to the trust fund set up by their reclusive, super-rich uncle Clem. But when he summons his nieces to his mansion in the Seychelles to announce his engagement to […]

TBR for March

This month I am aiming to read these 6 books!  6 books in one month is a little higher above my normal aim per month so hopefully I can read these this month along with my busy schedule.  I am most looking forward to reading the one I got in Paris; A Garden of Earthly […]

%d bloggers like this: