Posted on Leave a comment

Book Review: Losing My Inhibitions – Finally free and ready to have fun

Plot:

A year after leaving her controlling ex, Roxy’s divorce is finally official. She’s got her confidence and career back on track and is ready to start enjoying some no-strings-attached fun.

But just when Roxy thinks she has her dating plan all mapped out, a hot younger single man unexpectedly appears. On paper, he sounds like exactly what Roxy’s been looking for, until she’s warned that he’s strictly off limits. Getting involved with him will put her career, home and everything she’s worked for in extreme jeopardy. There’s a million reasons why Roxy shouldn’t give into his charms. The trouble is, he’s just too tempting…

Will Roxy take a chance and risk it all to pursue a forbidden fling? And if she does, can she find a way to let him rock her world, without turning it upside down?

Losing My Inhibitions is a sexy, laugh-out-loud, romantic comedy with a modern twist, which is about self-love, new beginnings, forging your own path in life and being true to yourself. It can be read as a standalone novel or as a prequel to The Middle-Aged Virgin and Only When It’s Love. Ideal for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Lindsey Kelk. 

Review:

First of all, big thank you to Olivia for sending me this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Are you seeking a new, fresh voice of funny, romantic fiction? Here we go.

Losing My Inhibitions was a brilliant read and in some ways, it was spooky the comparisons between Roxy’s life and those in the past.

This book is very understanding as it is about having a new start – at any age.

Roxy is starting a fresh chapter in her life. At forty-one and newly divorced she is finding herself for the first time in years. She is very ready for love and eager to live life to the fullest. Then, life throws her a sexy curveball. However, with all ball sports, there is always the danger of getting hurt.

Colette (boss) has given Roxy her job and put her up whilst she is finding her feet again. Of course Roxy feels she owes her boss for all the help given. She is working flat out on the Northern Beauty Live! Exhibition and when Colette agrees to get her help she can’t believe her luck. But when her boss reveals this to be her son (the baby boy in all the photos on Colette’s desk) Roxy’s earlier happiness quickly dissolves.

Colette’s son, Finn, tries to ‘break into’ his mothers home and comes face to face with a semi-naked Roxy they both know working together is going to be different than expected. Finn is no longer a baby boy instead, he has turned into a ripped, gorgeous and charming man. He is the toy-boy she’s been looking for but the one she can’t have.

In order to keep her job and her friendship with the woman that saved her in a time of crisis Roxy knows she will have to keep focused but can she do that and more importantly does she want to? Is Finn the answer to the fun she needs?

A brilliant and saucy read with cringe-worthy moments captured perfectly and genius comedy that had me laughing out loud. You can really hear the personality coming out throughout the writing which is refreshing. You have been warned if you read this on the bus prepare for funny looks, I am serious.

I can’t wait to see what Olivia Spring creates next! I love that the characters in this novel is relate-able. I cannot wait to get my hands on Olivia’s other novels if they are as good as this one.

4/5 Stars

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.